Piedmont Shag Association

Click here to edit subtitle

History of Piedmont Shag Association

     In November of 1985, a hand-full of people met at Jerry's Lounge in Kannapolis, NC to discuss the possibility of forming a social club for anyone who shared the love of good beach music and shagging.  This meeting was organized by Ed Dunn, who at the time was teaching shag lessons at Frank Liske Park for the Concord Recreation Department.  Ed had been involved with shaggers for many years and knew there was a need for area shaggers to have a place to gather.

   With Ed's direction, a planning committee was formed.  Serving on the committee were:

Jane Aiken, Eric Beaver, Ed Dunn, Phyllis Fincher, Reid Fincher, Ann Fowler, Bob Jacobs, Debbie Kilpatrick and Buell Little. 

 The main objective of the committee  was to research by-laws and decide on a name for the new club.  Because originally our meetings were to be held in                     three counties of the Piedmont area, the name                              PIEDMONT SHAG ASSOCIATION 

was adopted.  Once the planning committee adopted the by-laws, the club was ready to hold it's first election.  

  PSA First Meeting:  November 1985

  PSA First Election:  May 1986

  PSA First Newsletter:  April 1988

  PSA Website On-Line:  July 2004

    1995-1996                                                1997-1998
Mary Nelms-- President                                        Tom Little -- President 
Tom Little -- Vice President                                   Mike Stokes -- Vice President
Pam McGee-- Secretary                                       Tammy Hill -- Secretary
Tammy Clontz -- Corr. Secretary                          Deborah Ferguson -- Corr. Secretary
Ken Nelms -- Treasurer                                        Karen Allen 1997 Kaye Stokes 1998 Treasurer
Directors:  David Barbee, Billy Erwin,                    Directors: David Barbee, Ed Ferguson, Steve 
     Steve Slough, Mike Stokes                                 Allen, Ken McGee, Steve Slough